James Beard Awards 2013: Highlights and DC Mentions

James Beard American Classic Award Winner Peggy Fredricksen and Art Carlson of CF Folks. Photo by Michael Woestehoff.

New York, NY (May 9, 2013) – The James Beard Foundation hosted its 2013 James Beard Foundation Awards, the nation’s most prestigious recognition program honoring professionals in the culinary world at Lincoln Center in the Avery Fisher Hall. The cinema-themed night (complete with 3-D glasses) was hosted by actor Oliver Platt.

Winners in over 59 categories of the Foundation’s various awards were presented, including Restaurant and Chef, Restaurant Design, and Book, Broadcast and Journalism. In addition, previously announced special achievement award honorees were highlighted, including Lifetime Achievement, Humanitarian of the Year, Who’s Who, and the America’s Classics.

Below are a few of the James Beard 2013 Highlights:

Best Chef: Mid-Atlantic
Johnny Monis, Komi, Washington, D.C.

America’s Classics Award from the James Beard Foundation (1/5 awards presented)
C.F. Folks (pictured above)

Lifetime Achievement Award
Cecilia Chiang (Chef and Restaurateur, San Francisco)

Humanitarian of the Year
Emeril Lagasse (Chef and Restaurateur, New Orleans)

Best New Restaurant
State Bird Provisions, San Francisco, CA.

Outstanding Service
Del Posto, NYC

Outstanding Restaurant
Blue Hill, NYC

Winner of Outstanding Chef (tie)
David Chang, Momofuku Noodle Bar, NYC
Paul Kahan, Blackbird, Chicago


DC Area Nominees:

75 Seats and Under (Restaurant Design and Graphics):
minibar, Capella Garcia Arquitectura (Juli Capella and Miquel Garcia), Washington, D.C.,

Outstanding Wine Program
CityZen at Mandarin Oriental, Washington, D.C.

Best Chef Mid-Atlantic
· Cathal Armstrong, Restaurant Eve, Alexandria, VA
· Spike Gjerde, Woodberry Kitchen, Baltimore
· Johnny Monis, Komi, Washington, D.C.
· Vikram Sunderam, Rasika, Washington, D.C.

The Washington, DC hospitality industry was well represented at the awards and a spectacular reception followed.

Get My Posts Via E-Mail

Thank You For Sharing!